Contact Us (508) 480-8202

Essex County

Businesses and individuals in Essex County can count on the legal guidance and representation of the experienced business attorneys at the Katz Law Group.

Essex County, Massachusetts

Essex County, Massachusetts, occupies the northeastern corner of the state, stretching from the New Hampshire border in the north down to the suburbs of Boston in the south, and from Methuen, Lawrence, and Andover in the west to the Atlantic Ocean in the east. It includes cities like:

  • Lynn
  • Lawrence
  • Haverhill
  • Peabody
  • Methuen
  • Salem
  • Beverly
  • Gloucester
  • Newburyport
  • Amesbury

Essex County also includes the following towns:

  • Andover
  • North Andover
  • Saugus
  • Danvers
  • Marblehead
  • Swampscott
  • Ipswich
  • Lynnfield
  • Middleton
  • Salisbury
  • Georgetown
  • Boxford
  • Hamilton
  • Rockport
  • Newbury
  • Groveland
  • Merrimac
  • Topsfield
  • Rowley
  • Manchester-by-the-Sea
  • Wenham
  • West Newbury
  • Essex
  • Nahant

In total, there were 807,829 people living in Essex County during the 2020 census as well as numerous businesses in the area.

The Katz Law Group: Business Attorneys for Essex County

The attorneys at the Katz Law Group have nearly four decades of experience in the following areas of business law:

Our attorneys have helped a wide variety of clients, from individuals to small business owners to executives in multinational corporations, handle a wide variety of legal issues. A small sampling include:

Generally, business owners are eager to resolve these issues as inexpensively as possible while still protecting their company's brand. However, the attorneys at the Katz Law Group are willing and able to take your case to court if that proves to be necessary.

Courts in Essex County

If an out-of-court resolution cannot be reached, your case will likely be heard in one of the courthouses in Essex County. There are three superior courts and seven district courts that serve the county.

Superior courts hear cases that seek equitable relief or claims involving more than $50,000. In Essex County, these cases go before one of the following three branches of the Essex County Superior Court:

  1. Main Branch, at 56 Federal Street in Salem,
  2. Newburyport, at 145 High Street, or
  3. Lawrence, at 43 Appleton Way.

Smaller cases go through the district court that serves the local town or city. The seven in Essex County are the:

  1. Salem District Court, also at 56 Federal Street, which covers:
    • Beverly,
    • Danvers,
    • Manchester-by-the-Sea,
    • Middleton, and
    • Salem.
  2. Gloucester District Court, located at 197 Main Street, which serves:
    • Essex,
    • Gloucester, and
    • Rockport.
  3. Newburyport District Court, at 188 State Street, which covers:
    • Amesbury,
    • Merrimac,
    • Newbury,
    • Newburyport,
    • Rowley,
    • Salisbury, and
    • West Newbury.
  4. Ipswich District Court, which also sits at 188 State Street in Newburyport and covers:
    • Ipswich,
    • Hamilton,
    • Wenham, and
    • Topsfield.
  5. Lawrence District Court, located in the Fenton Judicial Center at 2 Appleton Street, which has jurisdiction over:
    • Andover,
    • Lawrence,
    • Methuen, and
    • North Andover.
  6. Lynn District Court, at 580 Essex Street, which serves:
    • Lynn,
    • Marblehead,
    • Nahant,
    • Saugus, and
    • Swampscott.
  7. Peabody District Court, at 1 Lowell Street, which covers:
    • Lynnfield, and
    • Peabody

Reach Out to the Katz Law Group for Experienced Legal Guidance

If you need legal representation for a business matter, call the Katz Law Group at (508) 480-8202 or contact them online.

Call Today

We focus on preventative counseling, objective advice and guiding our clients toward strategies for mitigating risk while efficiently and effectively conducting business. Please call us today.